

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

To: News Media
From: Bamberg County Administration
Date: June 7, 2024
Re: SC Legislative Progressive Caucus Honors Bamberg County Administrator Joey
Preston

Bamberg, South Carolina (May 2024) – On May 31, 2024, the SC Legislative Progressive Caucus (SCLPC) hosted their inaugural Progressive Power Awards Ceremony and Gala in Orangeburg. Former Ohio State Senator Nina Turner served as keynote speaker, and several awards were presented, including the Change Agent Award given to Bamberg County Administrator Joey Preston.

The SCLPC was founded in 2004 by SC Representative Gilda Cobb-Hunter and former Representatives Joe Neal and David Mack and has recently been relaunched under the guidance of their newly appointed Chairman Representative John King of York County. The purpose of the Caucus is to "bridge the gap between progressive legislators and their constituents."

Friday night's ceremony not only celebrated progressives from around the state but also served as the first major fundraiser for SCLPC and as the highlight of their Progressive Power Tour, which entailed stops in nine SC cities, including Aiken, Rockhill, St. Matthews, Walterboro, and North Charleston. Trailblazer, Change Agent, Rising Star, SHEro, Culture Champion, Founders' Award, and Chairman's Award were among the award categories, and about 25 public servants from various entities such as local government and non-profit organizations were honored.

"It was such a special evening and celebration of such incredible servants from around the state, including our very own Mr. Preston," stated Bamberg County Council Chairman Evert Comer, Jr.

Bamberg County Administrator Joey Preston said he was "humbled and surprised by the recognition and appreciates working with a County Council and staff who continue to progress Bamberg County into a brighter, more prosperous future."

####

For more information on this press release, email info@bambergcounty.sc.gov.